taliban afghanistan, a solo indian woman traveller, and help from unexpected quarters

An Australian tour company versus the Taliban. Who would you trust?

If I am not mistaken nearly everyone would choose the tour company. I did too.

After all, it is ‘white-owned’, from a ‘developed country,’ and the default conclusion is that ‘I would be safe with them’ in an otherwise unsafe country—in this case, Afghanistan under the Taliban.

Instead, as the only person of colour in a group of 10 led by two white Australian tour leaders, I was subjected to a barrage of India-bashing from the group. By the time one of the group, a Welshman living in Poland, crossed the lines on the seventh day of the tour, I’d had enough. I told them to stop. What happened next is what travel nightmares are made of.

Kabul's Ka Faroshi bird market where time has stood still through the 40 years of war.

Kabul’s Ka Faroshi bird market where time has stood still through the 40 years of war.

Graffiti in Kabul's streets—lady with an ak47.

Graffiti in Kabul’s streets—lady with an ak47.

Immediately after the face-off, I was dropped off on the middle of a highway in Kandahar, told my remaining three days of the group tour and the subsequent seven-day private tour were deemed cancelled by them, there would be no refund towards the private tour despite having received full payment, and that I would have to make my own way immediately to Kabul and thereafter to India at my own expense. Their reasoning? I was a threat to the safety of the western tour group.

What would you have done in this situation?

I was shell-shocked.

And I turned to the one group in Afghanistan the western media paints in the most sordid colours: The Taliban.

– – –

After being left on the highway around noon, I got a taxi to the hotel with the help of the local tour operator and waited till late in the night for the group to get back. They eventually did, at 10.30.

What happened, thereafter, changed my whole perspective on Afghanistan, the Taliban, and humanity.

On hearing my plight, and at my request, the Afghan owner of the hotel called the Taliban to ensure I received justice. In less than 10 minutes, three Taliban officials came over to the hotel to listen to my grievance. Patiently. Carefully. Always ensuring I was treated respectfully.

Inner sanctum of the Hazrat Ali Mazar which Sunnis believe contains the tomb of Ali, son-in-law of the Prophet Muhammad.

Inner sanctum of the Hazrat Ali Mazar which Sunnis believe contains the tomb of Ali, son-in-law of the Prophet Muhammad.

Don’t believe me? Read on.

In the ensuing ‘hearing,’ the tour company was told to give me my full refund in cash if they wanted to cancel the tour since it was their decision to cancel and not mine. The company refused stating Australian laws entitled them to cancel a tour if they deemed fit. The Taliban explained to them this was Afghanistan and not Australia. That the laws, hence, applicable would be sharia law which did not permit unlawful cheating.

The tour company then insisted they did not have cash on them, leading to their eventual agreement, in writing, to run the tour for me.

“Take her in shared taxis. Put her up in local guesthouses. We have not promised her anything!” The tour leaders announced to the local operator. The Taliban cut in that no such thing would be allowed, and they had to ensure I got the best available amenities.

But of-course, the tour company was pissed off. They demanded I apologize to the mainly male tour group for hurting their sentiments. To which the Taliban officials said that they would apologize on my behalf, since as per Afghanistan’s law, I, as a woman, was not going to apologize to a man I was not related to.

Built in the 3rd-4th Century AD, Takht-e Rostam is a rock-cut stupa and part of a large Buddhist monastery complex in Samangan.

Built in the 3rd-4th Century AD, Takht-e Rostam is a rock-cut stupa and part of a large Buddhist monastery complex in Samangan.

Two 12th Century minarets built by the Sultans of Ghazni were once double their current height.

Two 12th Century minarets built by the Sultans of Ghazni were once double their current height.

Somewhere in the middle of it all, the tour leaders demanded I did not give a negative review on the internet or write about them on my blog. In addition, I was not to say a single word, which could be interpreted as impolite, to the tour leaders or the group during my remaining stay. If I did, I was to be immediately dropped off on some highway again and the tour be cancelled. They had all this put down as part of the agreement.

You may notice, I have, therefore, not taken any names in this post.

This was followed by a string of racist abuses hurled at me by the tour leaders in front of the Taliban. These ranged from calling me and my complaint a ‘piece of shit’ to my being mentally unstable, vengeful, and downright dangerous. And to prove their point, they lined up the whole tour group as witnesses to my ‘baseness.’

The Taliban responded by stating they were not interested in listening to the ‘witnesses.’ Instead, they then gave me their cell numbers with the assurance that if I faced any problems by the tour company during my travels, they would ensure the Taliban intelligence in that city will take care of me and give the company and/ or the group a hard rap on their knuckles.

Just another street in Kandahar, Taliban's spiritual capital and headquarters, with Taliban propaganda on the blast walls.

Just another street in Kandahar, Taliban’s spiritual capital and headquarters, with Taliban propaganda on the blast walls.

Painted ceiling in the early-18th Century Mirwais Khan Hotak Mausoleum, Kandahar.

Painted ceiling in the early-18th Century Mirwais Khan Hotak Mausoleum, Kandahar.

No. The nightmare was not over yet. There was still one more jolt to go through.

Once back in Kabul, the tour company did a complete turnaround. They denied receiving payment from me and told the local operator they would not be paying for my private tour. Thank God I had a WhatsApp conversation to prove otherwise!

I was also ready to call the Taliban again.

Not because I am fearless. More because I knew the Taliban would protect me as an Indian tourist in their country. Perhaps because of this, the tour company finally backed off. Many things promised were not delivered and I had to pay for them from my own pocket. But that’s ok.

It was a small price to pay to ensure I stood in front of the UNESCO-listed towering empty niches in Bamyan and the 800-year-old Minaret of Jam, gazed at the mesmerizing turquoise waters of Band-e Amir, said a silent prayer at the Sufi saints’ mausoleums in Chisht, drove over soaring mountains, passes and deep narrow gorges, and in a grand finale, wandered through the Timurid wonders of Persian Herat.

The road to Bamyan via the Hindu Kush Mountains.

The road to Bamyan via the Hindu Kush Mountains.

The larger one of the two UNESCO-listed Bamyan niches which up-till 2001 housed two giant 6th Century statues of Buddha.

The larger one of the two UNESCO-listed Bamyan niches which up-till 2001 housed two giant 6th Century statues of Buddha.

This Taliban soldier seemed to find my jokes funny. :)

This Taliban soldier seemed to find my jokes funny. 🙂

– – –

Let me clarify, this post is not about the tour company or the co-travellers in the ‘group tour’ part of my travels. Stories of bad experiences with service providers are rampant, though it is usually service providers in ‘developing countries’ who are maligned. It is also not about racism or country bashing. As a person of colour, rare is the case where one has not been subjected to it at least once.

This post is not about them. It is not about the bad stuff that happens in travel, but the good stuff that happens from least expected quarters.

Band-e Amir, Afghanistan's first national park, comprises of six turquoise blue lakes high up in the Hindu Kush Mountains.

Band-e Amir, Afghanistan’s first national park, comprises of six turquoise blue lakes high up in the Hindu Kush Mountains.

The reason for it all and my ultimate destination: the UNESCO-listed Minaret of Jam which is all that remains of the 12th Century Ghurid capital Firuzkoh that was destroyed by the Mongols.

The reason for it all and my ultimate destination: the UNESCO-listed Minaret of Jam which is all that remains of the 12th Century Ghurid capital Firuzkoh that was destroyed by the Mongols.

Afghan women in Ghor province.

Afghan women in Ghor province.

This post is about the Taliban. And my first-hand experience of them as a solo Indian woman traveller in their spiritual capital and headquarters Kandahar which was labelled the world’s kidnapping capital till 2021, in a country labelled as unsafe for women.

So, who would you trust?

As a tourist in Afghanistan, I now choose the Taliban. Openly.

After 18 days of travelling across the length and breadth of Afghanistan, of which 12 were on my own, I am well aware things are not perfect in this incredible country. But where are things perfect?

I would like to believe Afghanistan will find its own solutions. It is more than capable of doing so. As a traveller, it is not my task to pass judgement, or to interfere.

My only onus is to explore the country’s beauty with an open mind. And as a solo woman traveller of colour, the Taliban were on my side through a bizarre set of travel ordeals. For that, I will forever be grateful. Till my last day in the country, they checked on me to ask me if I was safe or needed any help.

In the coming months I will be writing about Afghanistan’s stunning sites, rich history, and incredibly warm people that I encountered over my 18-day travels. Watch this space. ❤

The small town of Chisht houses the Khanqahs and tombs of the forefathers of the Chishti Sufi saints in India.

The small town of Chisht houses the Khanqahs and tombs of the forefathers of the Chishti Sufi saints in India.

Herat's largest and most beautiful mosque, the Blue Mosque, was started by the Ghurids [12th Century] and enlarged and embellished by the Timurids [14th-15th Century].

Herat’s largest and most beautiful mosque, the Blue Mosque, was started by the Ghurids [12th Century] and enlarged and embellished by the Timurids [14th-15th Century].

My upcoming blog posts on Afghanistan:

  1. Travel shorts: Hazrat-e Mazar, Afghanistan’s most sacred site
  2. Top 15 memorable things to do in Kabul, Afghanistan’s capital
  3. The complete travel guide to Ancient Bactria and Silk Road’s fabled city: Balkh
  4. Photo essay: In search of Kandahar, the Taliban’s former capital
  5. A guide to solo travel in Afghanistan for the Indian traveller
  6. Ghazni and its indomitable Sultans
  7. Persian Herat and it hidden wonders
  8. Travel diaries: From Bamyan to Herat via the Minaret of Jam

[Note: This blog post is part of a series from my solo travel to Afghanistan for 18 days in October 2023. To read more posts in my Afghanistan series, click here.]

P.S. I am writing on my blog after 10 months, and what a post to start blogging with again. 🙂 A lot has happened in my life this past year, including lots of travel. I have also changed my base—I now live in a village called Colva in South Goa which I visited for the first time in 2013. Who would have thought I would end up moving here!

Welcome back to my blog, and thank you for your patience, the constant reads, likes, comments, and follows. Means a lot. More than words can express.

45 thoughts on “taliban afghanistan, a solo indian woman traveller, and help from unexpected quarters

  1. Dear Rama,
    What an amazing story. I had to read it twice before it fully sunk in. I salute to your confidence and courage. I hope you are not letting the tour operators to get away scot-free. Lots of love and care.
    Ulhas

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I am letting the tour operator’s get away with it, because I believe eventually their karma will catch up with them. 🙂 What was more important for me was how kind the Taliban were to me. Perhaps all this happened just so I could see a side to the Taliban which otherwise no tourist sees. I am glad you enjoyed the read. Afghanistan is beautiful. Achingly beautiful. I hope someday you get to see it too. Till then, I hope my posts can take you there virtually.

      Like

  2. What a surprise! I never thought you would go to Afghanistan, let alone as a solo female traveler! I’m so sorry for the bad experience with the tour company. Although I’m surprised by how well the Taliban treated you, I still deplore the policies they have taken toward girls and women. Limiting their access to education and work is not the right way to move forward and build the nation. But I did read that the reason why a lot of Afghans, especially those in the countryside, support the group is because they managed to bring something the country has been lacking for so long: peace. I, of course, can’t verify this, and it would be interesting to hear your perspective about this country based on your recent experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is definitely peace, and I can vouch for that. I was there for 18 days, of which 12 were on my own, and I felt completely safe–all the time. Afghan women are a spirited bunch and they have found their way around the limitations imposed on them. Since schools are closed, private coaching centres have sprung up and women are studying. Certain jobs are off limits but I met air hostesses, doctors, trainers, and tutors. Things are not as messed up as the western media paints it, and life is pretty normal in the big cities like Kabul and Herat. It is a beautiful country and the Afghans love their own country passionately. I am sure they will find a solution. It is only two years since war has stopped, after 40 years. And in two years, their currency has strengthened, they did pretty well in the cricket world cup, and there is peace, and hope. Good enough for starters. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a story! I am saddened to read about the treatment you received by the company and by other tourists. And surprised by the compassion received by the Taliban, although like Bama (comment above), I have heard that the Taliban did bring certain amount of stability and safety to some areas. I am also floored that you went to Afghanistan at all. I was uneasy travelling along their border in Tajikistan. Thanks for sharing your experience. Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely to hear from you, Maggie. As a traveller, as you well know, things are not always perfect. It’s part of the deal. 🙂 In a way I am grateful to the tour company, since because of them I got to see another side to the Taliban.

      I loved Afghanistan and the Minaret of Jam had long been on my bucket list. Seeing there was peace in the country, I just jumped at the opportunity. I was not disappointed. It was more magical in real. There were actually quite a few tourists in the country. Some travelling independently. Some on private tours. Everyone I spoke to felt very safe. Tajikistan is very much on my list. I plan on using your blog posts as my guide!

      Thank you for reading my post. It is always good to hear from you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Im very curious as to what aussie company is even in Afghanistan right nos, as I had heard in travel circles that our govt wont allow any to operate because no insurance will cover them. Our govt website says absolutely no aussie can even go to afghanistan because there is no representation from the country there and not one travel insurance company would cover anyone there. Very strange.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Anna. They are registered in Melbourne as per ABN records and were founded in July last year. I found them on TripAdvisor. They have a website and social media handles where they regularly promote their Afghanistan tours.

      Both the tour leaders were Australian, and of the 10 tour participants, three were Australian.

      Like

      • Hmm ok, sounds like they are relatively new. I can’t believe how poorly they treated you. If they keep up that attitude they won’t be lasting much longer!!! I’m glad you still made the most of it though!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for your support, Anna. Means a lot, especially knowing you are an Aussie as well. I was stressed for that one day I was dropped off on the highway, but after speaking to the Taliban I was back to my usual high spirits. I love travelling, and I have learnt to take things whilst on the road in my stride. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Shattering myths as always! Beautifully written and sheds a different light on things. Proof there are multiple sides to every situation and people. Kudos to your strength in handling this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my that really happened.. that’s a crazy post ma’am. Happy to know you were well protected and returned unscathed.. an absolute fresh dimension of Taliban in Afghanistan. Just a wow 🤩

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it really happened. 🙂 The Taliban were very kind to me as a tourist to their country, standing up for me and being there for me throughout my stay. I will always be grateful to them for enabling me to enjoy my travels through Afghanistan to the fullest. 🙏

      Like

  7. Dear Rama,

    I must say that I’m shocked by what has happened to you! Especially because I know you, so I cannot understand why they were treating you badly. It just proves we should be judging everyone by their own character, dumb-asses are everywhere as well as nice and friendly people.

    But I’m glad you weren’t deterred and you were able to enjoy the trip. It’s so great to hear of the positive experience, the country definitely needs this. The photos are amazing, I can’t wait for more 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jana for your loyalty! 💕 I am not all that good. But I am not all that bad either. 😄 I truly hope you get to explore this wonderful country someday and am happy to help wherever, however I can. Hopefully my posts will do part of the work for starters.

      Like

    • Hey, thanks so much! Sorry for the late response. Am glad you enjoyed the read. The Taliban this time around are very different from how they were in 1996-2001, which made my travels super safe and fun. As for the Afghans, they are one of the most warm, hospitable, and helpful people I have ever come across.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m absolutely astonished by the way the tour operator treated you. Certainly didn’t expect that from a “white-owned” “developed country” tour operator. I’m curious though, why were they bashing India, and to the extent that you had to tell them to stop? I’ve had my share of receiving racist comments from ignorant travellers over the years of travelling but never to the extent where they crossed my boundaries – I simply ignored them. But your story sounds horrible and these guys kicked you out in the middle of nowhere! I’m so sorry you had to experience that. Also, looking forward to read more in your coming blog posts. Take care 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kathleen for your support and concern. Appreciated. As mentioned in the post, I am glad it happened though, because it helped to break stereotypes and generalizations. 🙂 The Taliban were nothing like the media or the tour company painted them out to be! And it was because of the Taliban that I travelled on my own, not riddled with fear, but with a conviction of my complete security. Next post coming up tomorrow. Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

    • Travel comes with its own set of risks and perks, and my Afghanistan travels had them in plenty. 🙂 Though they were the exact opposite of what I was expecting. As I have mentioned in my post, the Taliban treated me very well. Not just through this fiasco, but from the day I landed to the day I left. Smiles, help, respect. It made my travels that much more special. Thank you for stopping by Vinnie. Appreciated. 🙏

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What you write here is an eye-opener. I’m not surprised about racism because we keep hearing about such instances from down under. I’m surprised that this would happen in Afghanistan, of all places. Thanks for sharing that the very people who have been accused of wrong doings stood by your side. Who would believe both these aspects? That you were victim of racism in SE Asia by a white tour company and that Taliban would come to your rescue. Thanks for sharing this, Rama.
    I have been to Colva many years ago. I remember it as a quiet sea side area in South Goa. My favorites are Varca, Majorda and Cavelossim, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, travel is full of eye-openers. 🙂 I still have the phone numbers of quite a few of the Taliban security I met during my travels. I send them the posts I am writing. They check if I am okay and safe.

      Colva has come a long way in recent years. Not so quiet anymore. But definitely, not as touristy as the north. Goa chose me, rather than the other way around, is all I can say!

      Good to hear from you, Arvind. I hope you enjoy the other posts in my Afghanistan series too. Lots of Indian connections keep popping up, like coming across Babur’s tomb in Kabul!

      Like

  10. I always want to see what’s the other perspective and this long story is one such example of how the world sees Taliban and what the reality is..
    Afghanistan was always a peaceful country until western nations interfered for oil..
    I hope nations like Afghanistan will find its peace over the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well said, Chiru. And what’s ironical is that after 40 years of the Russians and US trying to take control of Afghanistan’s resources, it is China who wins — China is as of now the largest investor in Afghanistan’s oil reserves!

      I also want to take this opportunity to tell you that I think you write a fabulous blog, one I really enjoy reading. 🙂

      Like

  11. Rama, I am stunned and appalled to read about how the Aussie tour company treated you.

    At the same time it is so heartening to learn that the Taliban treated you fairly and kindly, and honored you as their guest. A lot can be said about how they treat their own women but like you said, it was not your place to judge and it would be right to acknowledge and appreciate their behavior towards you.

    Western media is quite biased when it comes to muslim countries. The world is not all black and white. We are all flawed and yet there is some goodness in all of us.

    You are so brave to travel alone and your pictures of Afghanistan are stunning.

    I look forward to your future posts.🩷

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Bhavana for your heartwarming comment. Yes, there is good in all of us, including the Taliban. And I am grateful I got to experience it first-hand. Coming up today is a travel guide on Balkh, the capital of ancient Bactria. I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

      Like

  12. What an incredible story, Rama! Who could have thought that the Taliban were the knights in silver armor? You have shown us a different and real perspective of a country that was coded “red” in all the Western travel advisories.

    I used to have a problem with an Australian tour company as well. But my case was less extreme than yours. They canceled my private tour at the last minute, upsetting both me and the local operator in Iran. I felt sad for the Iranian guide, but I couldn’t do anything because the company kept my money. After back-and-forth emailing, I got my money back. But wasted my time and visa fee.

    A group of “racist” men felt threatened by a woman? Joke of the years. If they dare to travel to Afghanistan, I thought they would be braver.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe, I think they just did not like me. It seemed more personal rather than anything else. But the Taliban were so kind to me! I really had a wonderful time in Afghanistan. By the way, did your Australian tour company’s name start with an ‘S’?

      Like

  13. Hi Rama – well as you say in one of your responses – “karma will catch up with them”. It already did. The travel company and so called ‘fellow travellers’ missed out on your beautiful photographs, knowledgeable commentary, insightfulness and understanding, and fun companionship (I really learned so much from you in Iran – about how to photograph people and had a good laugh at the same time – a memorable trip). But I think also that you got your good karma/vipaka – you were actually fortunate that they dropped you off – why travel with a bunch of bigoted misogynists? You were obviously better off on your own and learned so much more about the Taliban and the country and were able to communicate this. I look forward to you next posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iran was fabulous! And I truly believe part of the reason was the wonderful group and tour leader we had. I met so many incredible people, including you, who I am still in touch with even after 16 years. Am glad you still remember my photography tips. 🙂 I love taking pictures of people. I feel they are the very soul of a country.

      I agree with you that it all worked out for my better in Afghanistan. Almost as if it was meant to be this way. Afghanistan will always be one of my favourite countries. A little broken, yet so very beautiful.

      Like

  14. Pingback: photo essay: in search of kandahar, the taliban’s former capital | rama toshi arya's blog

  15. Pingback: travel diaries: from bamyan to herat via the minaret of jam | rama toshi arya's blog

  16. What an incredible story Rama! I have been lectured many times about travelling to countries with human rights issues like China and Myanmar, but I’ve always maintained that no country is all black or white. Your account of the kindness of the Taliban, not just the people, is more proof. I am most impressed by the adventurous spirit that led you there as well as your eloquent writing.

    Afghanistan has always fascinated me and while Iran is certainly on the cards (if the ME does not blow itself up before then) I fear I might be a tad too old to tackle it by myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Madhu. Welcome to my blog. My apologies for the late response. I have been, and still am, down with a pretty monstrous flu and throat infection. But first of all, I want to tell you that I am a big admirer of your blog and love your photography and writing style. With regard to Afghanistan, the country and its people will always be special to me. After years of travel, I have learnt to take most media stories with a pinch of salt — they are usually politically-driven. Hehe. Some fall for the stories. Others, like me, just want to experience the world, at whatever cost. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.