to blog or not to blog?

When people tell me they want to become a blogger my first response is “how committed are you?” Blogging is not a one-night-stand. How one wishes it was! It is a commitment you make to blog a post, an intelligible post that adds value to your readers’ lives, week in and week out. There is no finish line. To worsen it, you are only as successful a blogger as your last post, where the last post is a recent post.

Think your tryst with blogging can stand the test of time? If yes, hey, congratulations. It is one of the most satisfying forms of self-expression replete with engagement and making the world a better place. It allows you to grow as a person and continuously learn and share. If not, steer clear. For it can also be gruelling and mechanical, requiring oodles of self-discipline. Make your choice. And then stick to it coz there is no fence to sit on here. ❤

What do you feel about blogging and commitment? Would love to hear them.

[Note: This post was published earlier in the week in my communication blog on tumblr]

43 thoughts on “to blog or not to blog?

  1. You are my kind of blogger, I say the same thing, no one seems to frequent my blog but its my pride and joy and If it happens to help 1 person thats good enough for me to continue. I commend you and your contributions to the world.👊👍

    Liked by 8 people

  2. Just like any other hobby, it has to come from inside. Don’t do it just because your neighbour does it. 😂 When your heart wants it you will do it, however difficult it is.. But when you like it it could be very addictive! ✌

    Liked by 3 people

    • The “addictive” part is bang on. 😀 If I don’t blog, I feel something is missing in my life. And yup, you need to blog for yourself. It is at the end of the day, self expression, and not reporting or journalism. It is taking a part of yourself and giving it shape through words and pictures. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You said it – loud and clear!

    Many people start a blog because they think of making quick money through whatever means. but they don’t survive past a few posts – because to earn money, you have to have a good following, which would only come with quality work and it takes time (sometimes even years).

    People have often asked me how much i make, and not how much time it took me to establish myself before that. I have written every week for the last 2+ yrs (since i started writing).

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Very true, Rama! Except for the once-a-week rule. I’m committed to maintaining my blog, but I do not want it to be a bore or a chore. So I share whatever I think might be interesting to my readers (?), when I have the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your view, thelongview. I once read that a post’s job is to connect with the audience and give them something they are looking for. Finding the balance between what we want to say, and what our readers want to read, is, I guess the art of blogging. 🙂

      Like

  5. I had been thinking about starting a blog for a while. I didn’t know much about it and, really, had no idea where I was going. However, with everything I do in public I feel a strong need to do it right and professionally. So I knew that once I had started I had to stick with it and be as committed as possible. I soon developed my own regular timetable and my regular way of doing things. So far I have been loving it – but you are totally right on this: commitment and frequency is everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to know you agree, SommerKunst. 🙂 I am glad you brought up blogging’s “public” element. Though it is all about self-expression a blog also creates a blogger’s brand value and hence needs to be taken seriously. Whether it is the “About” page or navigation widgets, they all tell the reader the blogger’s level of commitment, and how we as a blogger, and as a direct result, our posts should be taken.

      Like

  6. Tbh this is so true because nowadays people just make blogs cause they want to get known or they just wake up one morning and decide to make a blog cause they are running out of what to do a blog is something you have to have passion for and patience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts Zee’na. 🙂 Very true, what you’ve said. I have seen a lot of bloggers come [in search of fame and excitement] and go [when they realise it is plain hard work]!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Once I got my own website, I realized just how difficult it was to gain followers and keep up with it. I love blogging and I feel like I have a lot to offer those around me. So I stick it out. I’ve had days where a post that took me forever to complete doesnt get one like but something I wrote within a few minutes is the most popular.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can relate to your comment oh so completely! I have written posts which I have literally laboured over–researching, structuring the content, crafting my story with much thought and care, and once it is published. Boom. Dead silence. I have even gone to the extent of checking if the post has been published at all by logging out. And a post which takes half an hour touches a chord somewhere and gets swamped with attention. I have now reached a point where I just write because I want to and not for likes. Coz likes are so darned unpredictable. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Blogging for me is natural it doesnt feel like im forcing myself at all. I normally have a passion for learning and teaching. I like to talk about interesting topics that can benefit anybody. I just started the other day and do not see myself stopping anytime soon. It is relatively easy for me to come up with topics and ideas to talk about. For example this one is my latest article. https://techblogsandothers.wordpress.com/2017/07/07/online-dating-awareness/ I will get better but for now i know its a pretty decent start.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

